Best practice rewarded by Institution

June 10 2015  

Best practice rewarded by Institution
Winners of the prestigious CIHT Awards 2015 were celebrated for their outstanding highways and transportation achievements in the luxurious surroundings of the Landmark London Hotel last night.
Among the winners were Michèle Dix (pictured), managing director of Crossrail 2, who was presented with the CIHT Institution Award, and Peter Hibbert of Jacobs, who received the CIHT/Mouchel Young Professional Award.
Networking, drinks and dinner were followed by the main awards ceremony, hosted by actor, comedian and writer Robert Llewellyn alongside CIHT President David Gibby.
Winners of the 11 awards presented during the ceremony are listed below. To read a full report on the CIHT Awards 2015, open the upcoming June issue of Transportation Professional.
CIHT/Gatwick Airport Major Projects Award
Metrolink to Manchester Airport – Transport for Greater Manchester
CIHT/Costain Sustainability Award
Winner: Improving the health of Londoners, a transport and health action plan – Transport for London
CIHT Effective Partnerships Award
Winner: Essex County Council Strategic Highways Transformation – Essex County Council, Ringway Jacobs
CIHT/EM Highway Services Streets Award
Winner: Southall Broadway Boulevard – Ealing Council, Project Centre, Murrill Construction
CIHT/Department for Transport Reducing Sign Clutter Award
Winner: Sign Rationalisation in Highway Maintenance: A New Approach – Norfolk County Council, Amey
CIHT/John Smart Road Safety Award
Winner: A9 Interim Plan – A9 Safety Group
CIHT/Ringway Innovation Award
Winner: Hammersmith Flyover Strengthening & Refurbishment – Costain, Transport for London, Ramboll & Parsons Brinckerhoff, Freyssinet
CIHT/Lafarge Tarmac Health & Safety at Work Award
Winner: Safer Roadside Working – Carnell Support Services
CIHT/VINCI Concessions Highway Asset Management Award
Winner: Leeds Highway Maintenance Strategy: creating value for the community – Leeds City Council
CIHT Employer Award for Excellence in Skills Development
Winner: Railways Graduate Rotation Scheme – Mott MacDonald
CIHT/Colas Technological Application Award
Winner: A1 Leeming to Barton – Carillion Morgan Sindall JV, Redspeed International working on behalf of Highways England with North Yorkshire Police
(Photo: Scott Ramsey)

Return to news listing