About us

Hong Kong

Branch History

The Hong Kong Branch inception is dated back to October 1984 in response to the wish of some one hundred and fifty members who were currently engaged in highway projects in Hong Kong. Some of these members were local residents whilst others were expatriates.
The Branch activities were organized by a group of enthusiastic members who formed the Branch Committee. Mr David Butler was the first Chairman and the rest of the Branch Committee consisted of Vice-Chairman, Hon. Secretary, Hon Treasurer, Assistant Hon Secretary, Recruitment Officer, five Elected Members and Ex officio immediate Past Chairman. In addition, the Branch Committee meetings were also attended by an IHT Representative in Hong Kong and a Highways and Transportation Technicians Association (HTTA) delegate. Mr. H C Beaton had been the IHT Representative for sometimes until 1989 when he retired. Around 1993, the HTTA delegate ceased to join the Branch Committee.
In early years, the Branch Chairman was invited to join the Annual Branch Meeting held in the Institution's Headquarters in London. The Branch Chairman attending the meeting had to paid for most of his own travelling expenses as Headquarters gave some subsidy to encourage the gathering. However, the invitation was ceased after 1990.
The activities organized by the Branch Committee in the early years were not much different from today and consisted of site visits to major projects and monthly technical seminars on both local and overseas projects.
Despite the not very long history of the Hong Kong Branch, a large number of members have made major contributions to the Branch when serving as Members or Office Bearer of the Committee. It is difficult to present a full list of these members who deserved all honours. Instead, the list of members who had served as Chairman of the Branch would help to chase the history.
Visit the Hong Kong Branch Website here
1984 - 1986 David Butler
1986 - 1987 H S Kwong
1987 - 1988 C C Calton
1988 - 1989 A A Bowley
1989 - 1990 K K Tang
1990 - 1991 Don Mackenzie
1991 - 1992 John Hui
1992 - 1993 Ron Rakusen
1993 - 1994 Andrew H C Pang
1994 - 1995 Ian Thoms
1995 - 1996 Alan Y L Wan
1996 - 1997 George Tedbury
1997 - 1998 C K Lau
1998 - 1999 Albert C H Cheung
1999 - 2000 Reuben P K Chu
2000 - 2001 Albert Cheng
2001 - 2002 Edward Chan
2002 - 2003 Mark Cheung
2003 - 2004 K W Lee
2004 - 2005 Kenneth K H Lau
2005 - 2006 Eric K L Chan
2006 - 2007 Leo K K Leung
2007 - 2008 Philco N K Wong
2008 - 2009 Thomas Y K Tam
2009 - 2010 Eric S C Ma
2010 - 2011 Kennedy Cheung
2011 - 2012 Collin Chan
2012 - 2013 Ir Prof. S C Wong
The Hong Kong Branch is one of 3 overseas branches of the Institution of Highways and Transportation of United Kingdom. The other branch is the Malaysian Branch. The Hong Kong Branch is a learned society in Hong Kong founded in 1985. It takes a keen interest in the design, construction, maintenance and operation of sustainable transport systems and infrastructure. It aims to provide a forum for the exchange of technical information and views on highways and transport policy; to provide specialist advice to government and other bodies; to make roads safer for the travelling public; and to encourage training and professional development to meet today's requirements.