Evolution of the CIHT-Hong Kong Branch

The Hong Kong Branch of the Chartered Institution of Highways and Transportation was established in October 1984 in response to the wish of more than 150 engineers who were engaged in highway projects in Hong Kong.

Branch activities were organised by a group of enthusiastic members who formed the Branch Committee. Mr David Bu tler was the first Chairman and the rest of the Branch Committee consisted of a Vice-Chairman, Honorary Secretary, Hononary Treasurer, Assistant Hononrary Secretary, Recruitment Officer, five Elected Members and Exofficio Immediate Past Chairman.

Branch Committee meetings were also attended by a CIHT Representative in Hong Kong and a Highways and Transportation Technicians Association (HTTA) delegate. Mr Harold C Beaton was the CIHT Representative until his retirement in 1989.

In the early years, the Branch Chairman was invited to join the Annual Branch meeting held at the Institution's headquarters in London. The Branch Chairman had to pay for most of his own travelling expenses as headquarters provided only a subsidy to encourage the gathering.

The activities organised by the Branch Committee in the early years were not much different from today and consisted of site visits to major projects and monthly technical seminars on both local and overseas projects. However, along with membership growth, an increasing number of activities have been organised in recent years. CIHT also marked a milestone this year with the signing of a Reciprocal Recognition Agreement for professional qualifications with the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers.

Despite the Hong Kong Branch's relatively short history, a large number of members have made major contributions to it as members or office bearers. It is difficult to present a full list of these members, who deserve all the credit for the development of the Branch. Instead, a list of members who had served as Chairman of the Branch is presented here to mark its history.